Skip to content

The Mean Streets (of Hunger City)

April 19, 2009

I’ve another few parties to write up for you, Dear Internet, so here goes with the first of three hopefully to be up over the course of the next week.

Here’s the Facebook blurb for the event:

This is the Mean Streets illustration I tossed together for the party.  Sorry, this is the only size I have.

This is the "Mean Streets" illustration I tossed together for the party. Sorry, this is the only size I have.

At Booley Day, we mentioned our intentions, and now we present: Mean Streets of Hunger City

Bring out your best and your worst, the denizens of the 3AM street corner and the darkened laneway, let all the colours of the nighttime city shine forth in their decrepit glory.

Let those who rule the late-night streets come out to play in Victory Manor; sneering punks, tattered junkies & suave dealers, snappy pimps and their gaudy ladies, crooked cops and hardened criminals, and those kings of the doorways and railyards, the colourful hobos in full indigent majesty.

Check in amongst friends, drink, dance, and party the night away in bohemian debauchery as we carouse until no one remains standing, join the ranks of the night-folk, those who are well-aware that real life starts at sunset and that nothing worthwhile happens in daytime.

NOTES: This is a costume party, please dress accordingly; any questions, feel free to ask. In true hobo fashion, BYOB, we can’t afford to share ours. If you have a bottle, we’ll provide a paper bag to put it in, just for extra authenticity, and we may even have scraps of paper for name-tags for those of you adopting a pseudonym for the evening – after all, no one uses their real name on the streets. We may not have met them yet, but as long as they won’t break stuff or steal shit, we love your friends already, feel free to bring ’em.

The girls on the sofa.

The girls on the sofa. From left to right, we have a Bag Lady, a Whore, a Battered Junkie, a Yuppie, another Battered Junkie, and a Whore just cut off outframe.

We went full-force costuming ourselves for this one.  Jaertes went to work making a three-piece suit out of newspaper and Jethe started constructing his punk/anarchist costume from various mismatched parts and stolen studs and patches.  I went to town with Elrene’s generously loaned sewing machine and a secondhand trenchcoat to make myself a grand old patchwork coat.  Jottos was sadly out of town at an athletics meet.  Everyone else we usually recruit put nearly equal effort into their costumes, and the whole thing was spectacularly hilariously colourful.

Semele, the first Battered Junkie in the above picture was initially planning on coming as a crazy ranting homeless person, in a bright red onsie (complete with buttflap hanging open) with legwarmers and a big ol’ “THE END IS NIGH” sign; but the onesie disappeared just barely pre-party, and hasn’t turned up since.  Beris came as the most spectacularly convincing Bag Lady I’ve ever seen not on the street, up to and including a little pushcart filled with Items that she disbursed and collected over the course of the night.  She stayed in full character the whole time, as well, fanatically collecting bottle caps and discarded odds and ends to add to her cart.  Sadly we don’t have any shots of her and her cart.

We have this great shot of Skylla (As Cruella de Whore, based on a booking photo of an actual whore she found online.) and Beris as the Bag Lady.

We have this great shot of Skylla (As Cruella de Whore, based on a booking photo of an actual whore she found online.) and Beris as the Bag Lady.

Jethe’s Frozen Junkie costume made me laugh ridiculously hard; he bought a denim jacket and cut the sleeves off before spraypainting it black and adding Punk As Fuck Slogans (as he called them) in white paint.  Elrene “aquired” some studs for him from the rock shop she works in, and he plastered the coat with them as well.  The dead fucked up makeup totally clinched the deal.  Every time I saw him dancing it up, I started laughing.

Jethe went all out with this makeup, and forgot to take it off before our diner breakfast the next day.  He definately got the oddest looks from the waitress.

Jethe went all out with this makeup, and forgot to take it off before our diner breakfast the next day. He definately got the oddest looks from the waitress.

Tethys decided to be a male prostitute, and went riduculously overboard in planning the costume, hunting high & low for the leather vest, and for glitter for his hair (which he ended up also applying to his eyebrows). He was so keen on winning Best Costume that he ended up letting his roommates wax a “T” into his chest once he’d gotten a (large) number of tequila shots into him before leaving his house.  Adonia came as a vice cop, and locked Tethys’ fingers together with a pair of hilarious little fingercuffs at one point, and he spent the better part of an hour trying to get out of them without resorting to asking her to let him out.  Like, to the point of trying to pick the lock with some sort of cutlery (I forget what, exactly) held in his teeth.

Tethys with his T proudly displayed and one of the culprits looking proud.

Tethys with his "T" proudly displayed and one of the culprits looking proud.

I based my costume on a bike courier from Vancouver; a gent who may or may not be homeless, but is known simply as the guy in the kilt – he wears a kilt (obviously, hence the name) an both his bike and every other portion of his attire are bedecked with scraps and odds and bods of fabric all over the place.  I figured he was perfect for the costume, and for the whole “colourful hobo” thing as well.  I bought a large trenchcoat and an assortment of fabric scraps, and stitched scraps all over every exposed surface to give myself a brightly coloured patchwork coat.  I tossed that over top of some Carhartt overalls rolled up to the knee, also with scraps of fabric tied on all over.  I talked Rachel into putting my hair into as many little pigtails as she could, and then tiend them back with a bandanna; add a funny little umbrella and a pair of bright orange chucks, and a little shoe polish for “scruff” and the image was complete.  Rachel came as a lovely streetwalker with the most awful tramp-stamp ever (ok, I drew it on her back with sharpies, I’m allowed to mock it a little); we made a very mismatched couple.

Tethys carrying me... for some reason.

Tethys carrying me... for some reason.

With the wine and the little umbrella I spent the night waving about.

With the "wine" and the little umbrella I spent the night waving about.

At some point during the night, I started eating bread off the end of a knife.

At some point during the night, I started eating bread off the end of a knife.

Rachel HATES this photo.  Likely because of the horrid face Im making.

Rachel HATES this photo. Likely because of the horrid face I'm making.

All told, we had a stellar night.  I avoided drinking very much – that giant jug of “wine” I’m holding in the top left photo is actually mostly grape juice, with a small measure of wine added in for flavour.  Given that I was hosting, I wanted my wits about me.  Which it later turned out was all for the best.  The paper bag was one of a large number we pilfered from both the LCBO and the local grocery’s mushroom department so that we could give people paper bags to put their drinks in; for extra authenticity.  …Turned into a bitch to clean up after, but was totally worth it at the time.  I think of this one as my favourite party of the year, though the house seems more torn between Rockstar Rampage and Steriotypes, which happened a month after Mean Streets.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tara permalink
    April 22, 2009 3:05 am

    Alright.
    Of all the things you’ve put on here, this is the one I’m actually really bummed out that I missed.
    You guys look fantastic.
    The end.

    • April 24, 2009 5:42 pm

      We had so much fun. I’m so glad it happened. I don’t think I’ll get anything really wierd happening in Vancouver, but if I do, I’ll tell you.

  2. April 27, 2009 1:12 am

    i totally would’ve come as the gay hustler.

Leave a Reply

