Skip to content

…In a TIN?

December 12, 2008

Jaertes has been a vegetarian for most of this past semester, with a once-monthly meat night where he attempts to compensate for his somewhat low-protein diet.

However, he’s gone off it for December, rejoined the house’s meat-eaters with a gusto.  To honour the occation, we decided to celebrate with the most quintessential, basic, un-gourmet meat we could think of.  Tinned meat.  And not corned beef or anything, no, we had SPAM.

The corner store carries it.  For something ridiculous like $4, you can get a cube of tinned meat.

Jethe, Jaertes, Biam and I had been drinking and playing Risk at the time, so Biam and I dashed to the store to get the “meat” while Jethe diced onions and got the pan heated up.

Just to be authentic, once we’d extracated it from it’s tin, all of us had a bit in it’s uncooked state.  Except Jethe, who’s still vegetarian and lurked on the opposite side of the kitchen, staring at our cube of dubious meat with horror.

I couldn’t bring myself to just … eat SPAM on it’s lonesome.  We fried up diced onions and garlic, as well as a few herbs and spices and then fried the whole lot again to get the spam crispy and to lose some of the congealed I-wish-it-were-fat substance on it.  Every round of turns in Risk, I’d get up and check on the product of our efforts.  Once done, we all dished it up.

It was … delicious.  Salty like an unwashed sailor, but delicious.  Unlike an unwashed sailor.  I think. I assume they’d taste stringy regardless of wash – would the added seasoning help or hinder the flavour of the end result?

I’ve been sidetracked.  By sailors.  “…In The Navy!…”  Dammit.

SPAM, Earthman, SPAM.  It was shocking appetising.   Were it not for the fact that I could get an equal or greater measure of ground beef for less, I’d probably do it again, with great relish.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2008 6:44 pm

    SPAM freaking rules the earth!! If you know any Chinese Canadians, they’re bound to have had this growing up… or maybe it’s just my generation…

    I love a good fried Spam sandwich, or for breakfast, eggs and Spam!! So good!

    I grew up on a significant measure of the stuff via the British grandparents. Fried spam on toast was a standard breakfast item.

  2. Tara permalink
    December 13, 2008 11:22 pm

    Ground been, hey?

    I ate Spam as a kid, I think my mom loves it.

    Pah, fixed. Thanks.

    I … kinda have a resumed respect for it.

  3. December 15, 2008 3:26 am

    Replied.

Leave a Reply

