Skip to content

In Which I Terrify a Child

July 9, 2008

Inadvertantly, that is. I bought Threadless‘ “Uprising” shirt, which has this gorgeous image on it. Admittedly, somewhat intimidating, but I love the bright colours and I don’t really think twice about the dark head on top of time image.

Uprising

But as I’m passing through Commercial/Broadway station yesterday, I stop into Megabite Pizza for some lunch, and as I’m walking in, I see this kid staring at me.  As I get closer, his eyes get wider, and wider and wider and he starts looking kinda scared.  I don’t quite connect the dots.  By the time I’m about two meters from him, he’s pushed up as flat as he could, pinned against his stroller seat in an effort to get further away from me, and utterly terrified.  I’m still puzzled.  I kinda scare kids sometimes, but … this is unusual.  I’m about a meter away when he simultaneously lets loose a piercing shriek and scrunches himself into a tiny little ball facing away from me.  Still puzzled, though – until on my way out, pizza in hand, I hear him gibbering to his mother about “scary monster, scary monster” and then lets loose another piercing wail as I pass him.  His mother, not having seen the shirt, was plainly beyond puzzled.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2008 12:14 pm

    i bet u love scaring kids on purpose! lol

    If I could consistantly plan it, I totally would – but unplanned, I was merely confused.

  2. July 10, 2008 12:35 pm

    Replied.

Leave a Reply

