Skip to content

Naming

June 25, 2008

The number of wrong names I get from customers is hialrious – I get Colin, Paul, Jim, James, and John all the time.

I don’t mind much, it just amuses me that no matter how cleatly I enunciate my name, the callers still garble it.

The only ones that really bother me, though, are the ones that shorten it for me.  I just introduced myself as “Earthman;” seriously, if I wanted to be called “Earth,” I’d’ve said “Earth.”  This one gets me ’cause it’s plain that they heard me and consciously shortened it for me.  I’m not your pal yet, I’m not the kid down the road.  If I fucked with you name, called the Stevens “Steve,” the Rebeccas “Bex” and the Richards “Dick,” I’d get so many complaints so fast that I’d be out of a job.

But somehow they think it’s allright to do it to me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tara permalink
    June 26, 2008 2:38 pm

    I’m very glad most of the time that I do not have a name that gets shortened.

    Similarly, though, is the amount of times I have to repeat my last name…”is that your last name” is a question that gets old fast, especially when I present it in answer to the question “what is your last name.”

Leave a Reply

