Skip to content

Packing

April 20, 2008

As of 6:30 tonight, I’m a BC kid again – I hop onto a plane and fly home for the next four months.  I get to go job-hunting/waiting to fulfill co-op, but…  I have confidence that I can pull that together.

Packing, though, bites.  I’m nearly done.  So close.  But as the room here empties, the packing gets progressively depressing.  Oddly, the most choking thing to put in a box was a pair of 2 meter strips of yellow fabric.  They were what made my room my room, and made my room visible and distinctive from across the road, and really anywhere you could see the building from, you could pick out my room.  I draped them over my main lights, see, and the entire room glowed a sunny golden yellow when I had those lights on.  It was cheerful, it was cosy, and it was unique.  I was definately the only one in MKV who did it, and it made the room so … different, so much of a unique special place.  We’d throw a party, we’d end up in here somehow.

Inevitably.

And for whatever reason, they … defined this room, and taking them down was the final moment, when it really hit.

309A isn’t my room anymore.  Farewell, MKV.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    April 21, 2008 2:07 pm

    Oh those pieces of yellow fabric! It was a good day of shopping that brought those to be. I’m going to miss walking into that store just to stare at all the pretty colours.

    Yeah, definitely going back to that store when I move into the new place, too.

  2. April 22, 2008 3:07 am

    Replied.

  3. Rachel permalink
    April 22, 2008 12:41 pm

    Hahaha… yeah you can join Shauna and I when we furnish our entire half of the house in that store… that and incense from Harmony. (Wow. We fit right in in Guelph.)

    Maybe. I may go the bulk-fabric route, which would require me to be a touch more economical regarding my spending, but… I can see myself likely wanting at least two more of those gold strips of fabric, so…

Leave a Reply

