Skip to content

Goddam Internet

April 2, 2008

…And it’s infernal propagation of RickRolling. (Honestly, Duckroll was WAY more awesome.)

It’s not that original a prank, and was really only funny in two contexts – the spectacularly unusual, and the original misdirected link. Regardless, it’s not funny anymore. At all, really. Youtube was only barely funny in today’s prank.

However, such is my heights of paranoia that in my Sociology of Media class today, when the prof announced a video, my first thought was “April Fools Day + Video + Media Studies Prof … Shit, the bastard is going to RickRoll us…”

He didn’t. Sadly, actually, as that would have been unusual enough to win a bit of acclaim.

But really, RickRolling has gotten so out of hand that I can’t even take a in-class video seriously. Knock it off already, Internet, find a new toy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. recallthetasteofmytears permalink
    April 2, 2008 4:53 pm

    When I was up for a promotion, I had to make a PP and I rick rolled my whole office…it was infact pretty awesome.

    Aye the life in tech support is a boring one.

    Did you still get the promotion? …Did they get the joke?

    Don’t get me wrong, it has it’s moments, but the useless link-litter of repetitive is irritating. Someone RickRolled my flatmate via phone the other day, and the two of us laughed ourselves sick over it. But only because it was so unexpected, if it’d happened again, it would merely be phone-spam, and not nearly as amusing.

  2. April 2, 2008 5:56 pm

    Replied!

  3. April 2, 2008 7:02 pm

    The really older people that work in the office were confused, The middle aged laughed at little bit,(mind you these are the same people that giggle when I wear my mudkip shirt) But the younger ones, mainly the people that I would be supervising if I get promoted, died laughing.

    If anything I hope that It showed that I have…Charisma? A sense of humor? That I’m up to date with the trends of this wacky place we call the interwebz?

    Or it could of course show that I am a complete idiot that blew off a “professional” presentation

    Either way

    I won’t find out till next week. Wah.

    I do hope that paid off for you, and in full justice, there are very few other jokes that would work like that. ‘Sides, in a call-centre, you need every ounce of humour you can scrounge, given what I know from most people’s call-centre experiences. And yes, if you’re a supervisor, you need to be “in tune” with the munchkins, after all. Though having to explain the joke to your older colleagues must’ve been interesting … Did you try?

    And … stop by again once the final call on that promotion comes down, eh? Now I want to know how that turns out.

  4. April 2, 2008 9:41 pm

    Responded…!

Leave a Reply

