Skip to content

Greed

February 26, 2008

I just had the somewhat disheartening realization that I’m greedier than I am concerned with quality – I take somewhat poor pay and a long commute to do fantastic work for people I like and who appreciate what I’m capable of; but I would not be choked about changing to the dark side and working for Starbucks.  There, I said it.

I’m beyond passionate about doing this stuff right, I’d love to be trained up to a competition-grade barrista should the opportunity arise, but somehow the knowledge that I’m making the best coffee for hours around when I’m working is only minor consolation to knowing that I could be pulling anywhere between $3 and $5 more an hour at either of the Starbucks that’re closer to me than KW Coffee is.

I love what I’m doing, and I’m certainly staying on as is, but the temptation of more money + benefits + close sure as hell gnaws at me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

