Skip to content

Unshareable?

February 13, 2008

I find myself possibly approaching an intriguing conflict between anonymity and well-earned bragging.  My employer has been bandying about the possibility of sending me to compete in Barrista competitions, which is awesome.  The ptoblem, though, is that winners and all that are publicised.  So…  My name would be out there.  I’d be up as a winner. Awesome, other than the fact that in order to maintain the vague semblance of anonymity that I maintain here, I’d be unable to tell …  the readership?  Write about it here, at least.  If only in principle, I’d like to keep my name unattached from my achievements, which seems to require not attaching my achievements to this blog lest the connections get made, and ruin what little discretion I maintain here.

In simplest terms, I don’t want a potential employer googling my name and getting this blog.  If they get the blog first, then want to hire me, well…  I have a suspicion they might not be the kind of company I’d want to work for, but I’d consider it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tara permalink
    February 14, 2008 1:16 am

    Them ptoblems suck.

    The best part about this particular one, though, is that bragging is essentially cut off unless you want to unveil your name.

Leave a Reply

