Skip to content

Internet Popularity

January 22, 2008

I’ve noticed an interesting trend regarding internet content, at least with a reference to hits recieved here.  See, when I don’t post, I don’t get hits.

“…Simple!”, you might think?  Not quite…  Many of this hits I get in parallel with recent postings have little to do with the post itself, but are other, older posts.  Do you see where I’m going?

This directly relates to the haste-and-quantity culture comment I made earlier this month, in that it doesn’t matter what I write about or whether I’m any good or not, as long as I’m still posting, I get hits on content.  When I only post infrequently, but pay attention to maintaining quality over quantity, hits drop off.

As a small blogger, it apparently doesn’t pay to think.  Just keep churning out shit until The Google is forced to give you higher priority via the massive numbers of inadvertent & curiosity hits, in my case, driven by people with obscure sexual fetishes, an interest in fortune cookies, and a lasting desire to dress up as a scene kid. (My three major search hits from The Google seem to be “Wheelchair Sex,” “Fortune Cookie,” and “Dressed as a Scene Kid” or any possible permutation of those.)

To be honest, actually keeping readers seems to be more the purview of quality, Waiter seems to generate huge hits from people merely hoping that he might have updated with another fantastic story of his life as a server or otherwise.  But it seems that the novelty & feed-crawlers out there are fickle creatures, and until a blog “Tips” (Thanks, Gladwell!), we should all keep churning out the same old reposted shit in the hopes of generating a Tipping mass of hits.

To turn that around, though, I don’t want to be Internet Popular, I don’t want millions of hits, and I really don’t want any embarrassing lapses of anonymity & privacy.  I have 3 or 4 people out there who come regularly, and anyone else is an interesting bonus.  For instance, I’ve been getting a load of visits redirected from LJ’s “BasicAquatics” who I’m sure is also a very nice person, even if I don’t know them.  (Leave a comment or something.  OpenID even lets you sign it with your LJ ID, so you can feel like one of the cool kids.  ‘Sides, lurkers make me nervous.)

But if you do, do what every other blogger with the same goal does.  Repost, Repost, Repost, then hang out on Digg, Reddit, and Fark, and … guess what? … repost what you’ve found there.  All you need is volume, and then you can start making your own particular fanfiction/lifestory/personal philosophy/religion/_____ review/opinion column popular, ’cause, well, you have the hits to get you noticed.  But until then, repost.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tara permalink
    January 24, 2008 3:19 am

    This girl I e-know got hit on by someone using an accounting line. I posted, in her replies, the address of your accounting-line lovelies, and I wouldn’t be surprised if everyone that comes across it has been clicking in. Apologies for sending you cute girls. *grins*

    I do enjoy the attention, though I’m not sure it counts when i don’t know who they are or whether or not they’re actually cute. Your tastes & mine do rather differ, y’know.

  2. January 24, 2008 12:08 pm

    Reply.

Leave a Reply

