Skip to content

Paring

December 13, 2007

I’m currently in the somewhat traumatising process of paring down my hard-drive music collection – partially to make room for new material, and partially so that I hear the stuff I genuinely like more often.  Also, who the hell actually needs more than a day of music on their computer.

Yes, there are some hard-core music nerds out there, who pride themselves on the size of their collection, or go through someone’s DC++ shared music, just to see how much someone else has.  There’s a bizarre sort of status derived from it.  However, I’d like to have as much free space on this machine, whenever possible.  Also, my iPod doesn’t have a capacity of 40G for no reason.

So, I’ll prune the collection down to the order of 1G on this beast, and maybe take some of the true shit off the iPod.  And report back, dear internet, what has met it’s end when I go through and hit the “delete” key that final time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2007 2:24 pm

    I burn all mine to Cd’s. Yes, I still use CD’s, have they gone the way of LPs yet? I have a lot of music, but not for the sake of status or anything. There’s just a lot of songs and artists and eras and genres that I like to listen to and like to have on hand when the mood strikes.

    I’m a total iPod whore, but beyond that, I would likely be using CDs. I do when I’m home here and driving, the car doesn’t have an audio input / iPod jack, so traditional media is the only option. And CD’s are hardly obsolete, really. Most music is supposed to come that way, even.

  2. December 24, 2007 3:49 pm

    Replied.

Leave a Reply

