Skip to content

Why I Now Understand Bottled Water

October 19, 2007

…The water here is atrocious.  Since moving to Waterloo/Kitchener in September, this has been the most important thing I’ve noticed, over and over.  The water.  It’s terrible, mineral-y, and bitter.  Brita filters only barely help.

Thus, while I’ve seen & heard it bemoaned as a yuppie affectation and a glaring sign of our consumerist culture, I get it.  In places like here, where the water is absolutely vile tasting, bottled water becomes a realistic thing.  On Those Days, I’m willing to shell out 65¢ for a bottle of decent tasting water.

In Vancouver, the water in the taps tastes just as good as the water in the bottles – not so, here.  Thus, paying for nice water here.  I don’t, much, unless I’m really desperate, but every now and again, I cave.

Next up: Mineral Water; why pay for something that tastes like crap?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tara permalink
    October 21, 2007 12:10 pm

    Buy one of those big, it-costs-two-dollars-to-fill-me jugs. It’s worth it, and you’ll use less plastic.

    Uh, I’m not buying bottled water en-masse. It’s a rare thing. Or did you not acutally read the post? I said we Brita most of it, and I just buy water on rare occations. That shit’s free out the tap, why should I pay for it other than as an occational treat?

  2. Rachel permalink
    October 22, 2007 1:00 pm

    This is why you make your mommy visit you and buy you bottled water… not to mention food and cosmetics and coffee and clothes.

    Christ, you’re an exploitative child. Be nice to her, she did just fly out to see you…

  3. October 22, 2007 6:15 pm

    Replied.

Leave a Reply

