Skip to content

Blog Action

October 18, 2007

Apparently Tuesday was Blog Action Day.  (Thanks, Hot Lunch.)  I was supposed to be writing pofusely and with great intent regarding “The Environment”.

I wasn’t.  Thus, I’ll fill in the gaps now, but don’t get your hopes up for something deep or anything.  I’ll try.

I’ve lived in Vancouver, BC, for most of my life.  We’re pretty crazy there, really, we have a fantastic environment and only manage to mangle it a little, at least compared to what other places have done to equally naturally rich locales.  We protest shit, pretty much all the time.  Everything from fish farms to politics to ill concidered news-comments brings people out onto the streets in cheap plastic ponchos and wielding signs coated in sensationalist slogans, witty digs and atrocious spelling.  Oh, and sometimes it’s not even that evident what they’re protesting.  But they show up and chant and wave signs anyway.

It’s pretty awesome.  I’ve just moved to Waterloo/Kitchener, and I’m seeing the difference.  I’m not seeing posters for this or that or the other policital protest or action rally up everywhere.  I’ve only heard of one, so far, the entire month I’ve been here.  Home in Vancouver, there’s a new protest organized every day.   Now, I dunno if this is linked, but it also seems to me that we have the most haywire smog ever here.  For the entire sunny September, I’d get up and grab a sweater, thinking “Oh, looks overcast today.” and go outside and die of heat, ’cause it wasn’t overcast.  It was fucking smog.  Yeah.  Pretty gross.

…Back home, we whine when air quality is bad enough that the mountains are undefined and a little blue-er than usual.  Here, if I were to go up a tower somewhere, the other end of town would be blued out with smog.

Where I’m going with this is a bipartite point.  The first being that living in a province/city of rabid protesters seems like it may have a benefit; at least, it could easily be said that enough action from the ground level has had a certain degree of effect – we have beautiful air back home.  From there, though; I segue into the fact that we don’t appreciate it enough.  The amount that we complain about what is really quite a beautiful excellent thing is almost saddening.

From there, though, I’ll pull those back together:  Keep bitching and whining and protesting the shit that’s wrong, but don’t let all that rage at the horrors we’re unleashing on our planet detract from your enjoyment of what you do have around you – I certainly didn’t appreciate it enough back home, and that realization has made me enjoy the lesser nature here even more.

Just ’cause it’s there to be enjoyed at all.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    October 18, 2007 3:25 pm

    I miss Vancouver…
    And you’re right I never ever noticed how fucking gorgeous that city is until I came here. I’d kill to look out my window and see a mountain or to stand on a beach (in the rain). 🙂
    The people I talk to here always say, “You left Vancouver and moved here!? Are you crazy!”
    But I did take it for granted, I never would have realised how great it was if I hadn’t left.
    Don’t get me wrong, I like Guelph, it’s an adorable little town… but I’d never make it my permenant home.

    I know, eh? It’d have to be one helluva city to tempt me away from going back there. I kinda expect I’ll likely have to spend some time working elsewhere, but… Vancouver is where I’ll end up. Between the people and the scenery and the culture, there’s just … something massively right about the place.

  2. October 18, 2007 3:30 pm

    Replied.

  3. Rachel permalink
    October 18, 2007 9:50 pm

    Yup. I agree. I love it! I definitely want to travel EVERYWHERE and live somewhere else for a while, but I’m going back to Vancouver. (Unless another city REALLY amazes me.) But I’m moving to proper vancouver, none of this North Vancouver shit.

    So far, it’s Vancouver or Florence. And I don’t see myself getting that good at Italian, no matter how hard I work.

    Aww, plan on living in the real Vancouver, where all the real crazy shit happens?

  4. Tara permalink
    October 19, 2007 10:19 am

    You haven’t even been there for the winter, yet.
    *laughs*
    Ohman you’re in for it.
    Snowsmog? Pretty much the WORST thing ever. Beat only by disease-carrying waves of mosquitoes, I think.

    Wanna come visit? …On your way to Australia.

  5. October 19, 2007 11:34 pm

    Replied!

Leave a Reply

