Skip to content

Thanksgiving; SAVED

October 15, 2007

This was a week ago, now, but…

This is how my Thanksgiving went.

Before leaving Vancouver, I’d made plans to have dinner with some friends of the family who’d recently moved out here. I like them, they like me, and I get along well with their son. How simple is this? I bus down to St. Catherine’s, have dinner, party with the son, crash, bus back. Thanksgiving, done right.

However, he apparently cancelled on them, and they opted to alter their plans dramatically, without telling me – it was only when I expressed concern that I didn’t know what was upcoming that they mentioned that they were up to other things, and I was cut. … By this time, it was far too late to make other plans – I’d let myself be booked for three shifts that weekend, expecting to only need to grab a 20-minuite Greyhound to get to my dinner. Apparently I was on my own. I dealt with this by taking on a fourth shift, on the Monday, and assuming that I’d be mindlessly busy and just not have time to notice that I was effectively missing Thanksgiving.

I moped about a bit, left my Facebook status as “Ditched for Thanksgiving” and left it at that. However, things went uphill from there – after reading & enquiring about the status, as well as significant Context back in town, Saoysha decided that it would be an awesome gesture to me and a great way of escaping briefly if she were to come here and visit.

So… She did. It was spectacular. She flew in on Wednesday, 6-ish, and I went out and got her in a taxi. She came back here, and we did a few rounds of introductions before we crashed, both of us pretty exhausted from flying and school and the like. Thursday turned into a massive party here as everyone set out homeward for Thanksgiving on Friday.

I worked most of the weekend, but she explored downtown Friday before realizing she’d seen it all for Saturday and chilled here, reading and bumming around on the internet. Relaxing for her, but I got back wiped. However, we did manage to keep ourselves entertained, and I did my level best to be a good host the entire time I was here.

Sunday night was “Thanksgiving” for us, and we baked a chicken and some greek-style potatoes in the oven, as well as a green salad on the side. I was pretty bushed, and dinner was WAY late, but it was a load of fun regardless.

(Less fun was Res getting evac’d because someone pulled a fire alarm over a 911 issue at 3:15 AM, but…)

Monday was more working, while there was a parade downtown – we got a series of massive rushes, interspersed with a whole lot of nothing. And then cleaning, after. Saoysha was down for the parade (Thanks for the photos, those’ll be up later.), but took my keys and headed back after it was done.

Tuesday was her last night here, and I blew off Jujitsu to spend a little more time with her, and we hung out around the flat and generally had a pretty awesome evening. In exchange for making her dinner, I talked her into finishing mending a pair of pants of mine that I’d killed at Jujitsu last week. I felt kinda boorish sitting there playing video games while she fixed my pants, but she reminded me that I had made dinner for her, so it all evened out. According to her.

Wednesday we’d planned on going downtown early and exploring all day, but ended up hanging out here for a good couple of hours longer than necessary, and only got downtown at 2:00-ish, as opposed to the planned 11:00. However, we spent it well, looking around various thrift stores and the like, as well as getting coffees from work and cupcakes from a place up the road there. Then, at roughly quarter-past five, her taxi came to get her to the airport.

I know you don’t read this, but thanks so much for coming. You pretty much saved what would have been an immensely depressing holiday. I just wish I’d had more time to pay attention to you – I still feel like I was a pretty slack host.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tara permalink
    October 17, 2007 6:53 pm

    If you started sleeping more & taking care of yourself, you’d be in much better shape to do what it is that you feel you weren’t with her, I’m sure.

    Cheap shot. She was half the reason I was getting no sleep, and you know it.

    But yes, if I slept more, I’d be better off.

  2. October 18, 2007 10:36 am

    Replied, and enough sass.

Leave a Reply

